1. TOP
  2. Information
  3. Announcing Official & Non Fiction Competition Jurors!
Announcing Official & Non Fiction Competition Jurors!

Short Shorts Film Festival & Asia 2021, (Fri, June 11 – Mon, June 21, 2021), one of the largest international short film festivals in Asia is proud to announce the jurors of the “Official Competition supported by Sony” & the Non-Fiction Competition. The Best Short Award-winning films from each competition will be eligible for nomination at the Academy Awards® next year.

The 6 jurors of the Official Competitions are: actor Junko Abe, actor Ryo Katsuji, photographer Hideaki Hamada, film critic Chris Fujiwara, Director Tetsuya Mariko & actress Mariko Fuji.

Out of the 80 shorts selected out of 3,256 submissions from 105 countries and regions around the world, the Grand Prix, George Lucas Award will  be selected from Best Short Award-winning films in the International, Asia International and Japan Competitions.

 The 3 jurors for the Non-Fiction Competition are: director Kazuo Hara, actress/photographer Miyuki Matsuda, and journalist Gonzales Maruyama. They will select the Best Short out of 12 nominated shorts out of 307 entries submitted from 60 countries and regions around the world.

The awards will be announced by the jurors at the Award Ceremony held at Meiji Jingu Kaikan Hall on Monday, June 21.

Once again this year, Sony will support the Official Competitions (International, Asia International, Japan) to support the filmmakers who will create & set the new trends & styles of visual contents & is the gateway to a possible nomination in the short film category at the Academy Awards® for Best Short Live Action Film, opening the door for creators who will create new visual cultures and trends.


SSFF & ASIA 2021 Official Competition Sponsor
XR Partner
Digital Innovation Partner
Creative Partners
Media Partners
Media Supporters
English Media Sponsor
Festival Supporter
Equipment Supporter
War and the Power To Live
Program Special Support
Event Special Support
New Normal Partner
Official Tote Bag
©︎ 2021 Short Shorts Film Festival & Asia.